About SBOE

Together with the Commissioner of Education, the State Board of Education oversees the Texas public school system.


The duties of the fifteen-member State Board are critical to the future of Texas:

  • setting academic standards for Texas public schools;
  • approving textbooks for use by Texas students and teachers; and
  • overseeing the investment of the Permanent School Fund, an endowment for purchasing schoolbooks.

You can visit the State Board of Education website by clicking on this link.

About SBOE District 3

SBOE District 3 includes all of San Antonio and other cities within Loop 410 and runs south to the Valley along U.S. Highway 281.


The counties in SBOE District 3 are Atascosa, Bee, Bexar, Brooks, Duval, Frio, Hidalgo, Jim Wells, Karnes, Live Oak, McMullen, Medina, and Wilson.


A total of 72 school districts fall wholly or partly within SBOE District 3.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, in 2000 there were 1.4 million persons living within SBOE District 3; of these, 424,000 were school age or younger (less than 18 years old).


You can view an SBOE district map.